Want to know a great way to compare childcare services? Each long day care and family day care provider is given a rating according to the National Quality Framework (NQF).

It’s a good idea to talk to the childcare provider of your choice and about their rating.

Standard assessment of childcare services

The NQF is an agreement between all Australian governments to work together to provide better educational and developmental outcomes for children.

Long Day Care and Family Day Care are assessed against the 7 quality areas and given an overall rating based on these results. Services are reassessed approximately every 2-3 years to ensure their rating is kept up to date.

The 7 quality areas are:

  • Educational program and practice
  • Children’s health and safety
  • Physical environment
  • Staffing arrangements
  • Relationships with children
  • Collaborative partnerships with families and communities
  • Leadership and service management

The overall NQF ratings are:

  • Excellent, awarded by ACECQA
  • Exceeding National Quality Standard
  • Meeting National Quality Standard
  • Working Towards National Quality Standard*
  • Significant Improvement Required

You can find more information on the National Registers and Starting Blocks just search for the childcare centre of your choice.

*If the service of your choice has been rated as ‘Working towards’ ask for details to see what areas they are working on.